The department was started in 1953. The reason behind starting the department was cabins burning on the shores of Ma Me O Beach. Cal Jackson and Bud Nadeau decided that something had to be done thus the start of The Ma Me O Beach Fire Department. The fire department started with two ropes and 6 buckets and the first meetings were held in Stan Cruthers’s garage. Over the years the equipment and members have changed but the mission has always been the same: To educate and provide protection to life, property, and the environment in a proactive and professional manner.scan_20161121-6_300x200scan_20161121-7_300x200


In 1963 George Miasnikoff was appointed Chief by the Village Council. The department carried on as the Ma Me O Fire Department until 2006 when a new hall was built and so began The South Pigeon Lake Fire Department.



George Miasnikoff – 1963-1964

Stan Cruthers – 1964-1967

Marvin Glanz (Acting Chief) -1967-1969

George Miasnikoff – 1969-1986

Marvin Glanz – 1986-1993

Owen Hamblin – 1993-1995

Stu Raven – 1995-2009

Al Patterson – 2010-2015

Wayne Benson – 2015-Present